KENYA – The winners at the inaugural Food Business Africa Industry Excellence Awards ceremony’s Industry Champions category have been unveiled, and are set to be awarded at a dinner ceremony in Nairobi, Kenya.

The list of winners, which is made up of some of Kenya and the region’s key industry, research and development organisation investors, directors and managers, celebrates men and women from the depth and breath of the food & beverage and milling and feed industry who have made notable contribution to the growth of the industry over the years.

The winners of this year’s edition of the category include BD Shah, the Chairman of Bidco Africa; Kimani Rugendo, the CEO of Kevian Kenya; Nick Hutchinson, CEO of Unga Group; Tabitha Karanja, the CEO of Keroche Breweries; and Chris Kirubi, the Chairman at Centum Investments.

Others are Muhoho Kenyatta, Executive Chairman at Brookside; Prof. Ruth Oniang’o, a career nutritionist and Director at Nestle SA in Switzerland; Hirtesh Shah, the CEO of Sigma Feeds; Bimal Shah, the CEO of Broadways Group and Abdul Farah of Chemicals & Solvents.

The others are Anne Mbaabu – Director, Market Access Program, AGRA; Binoy Zachariah, the founder of Bio Foods; Lau Larsen, the CEO of Promaco; Bharat Shah – Vice Chairman, Kenafric Industries; Bharat Patel – CEO, Vegpro; and Dr. Florence Wambugu – CEO, Africa Harvest.

“It gives me and the team at FoodWorld Media great pleasure to unveil these true heroes of the of the food & beverage and milling and feed industry in the region,” says Francis Juma, the founder at FoodWorld Media, and the organisers of the Food Business Africa Industry Excellence Awards.

“The winners of this inaugural edition of the Industry Champions Awards category cover the entire scope of business and academia leaders from most sectors of the industry.

“From those in the baking, milling, confectionery, dairy, feed; supplier companies and researchers, we shall be celebrating these individuals’ achievements while reflecting on their impact on the industry and society at large,” Juma added.

The celebration-themed Awards ceremony is set for Southern Sun Mayfair Hotel in Nairobi on April 26, 2017 evening, where the winners of the Industry Champions Award will be feted in the presence of other business leaders and other stakeholders from the region and the World.

The Awards ceremony will take place together with the Official Dinner sponsored by Nestle for the AFMASS Conference & Expo.

AFMASS Conference & Expo, which is the region’s leading food & beverages, milling & feed and hospitality & foodservice conference and expo, is scheduled for Visa Oshwal Centre in Nairobi on April 25-27, 2017.

More info about the event can be found at


The Industry Champions Award category is targeted at individuals who have made notable impact and influence on the food & beverage and milling & feed industry in sub-Saharan Africa.

The Award, similar to a Lifetime Achievement Award, is given to individuals who have made their contributions to the industry as investors, directors, managers, researchers, Government officials and NGO/development agency managers – and in the process uplifted the industry to greater heights.


The Food Business Africa Industry Excellence Awards are organized by FoodWorld Media – the region’s publishing, events management and consultancy company.

The Awards have a goal of inculcating excellence in the food & beverage and milling and baking industry in Africa through an annual competitive awards program

More information about the awards are available at


The following is the list of the winners of the 2017 edition of the Industry Champions Awards category:

BD Shah – Chairman, Bidco Africa
Chris Kirubi – Chairman, Centum Investments
Muhoho Kenyatta – Executive Chairman, Brookside Dairy
Kimani Rugendo – CEO, Kevian Kenya
Bimal Shah – CEO, Broadways Group
Bharat Shah – Vice Chairman, Kenafric Industries
Hirtesh Shah – CEO, Sigma Feeds
Binoy Zachariah – Founder, Bio Food Products & Bio Consult
Anne Mbaabu – Director, Market Access Program, AGRA
Tabitha Karanja – CEO, Keroche Breweries
Bharat Patel – CEO, Vegpro
Abdul Farah – CEO, Chemicals & Solvents
Nick Hutchinson – CEO, Unga Group
Lau Larsen – CEO, Promaco

Participation at the awards ceremony is through the following ways:

Through an invitation letter that includes a card to access the awards ceremony.
Members of staff of companies that have participated at the 2017 edition of AFMASS Conference & Expo as Sponsors, Exhibitors and Partners. Limited number available for each type of company as communicated directly to the companies involved.
Through payment of KSH 10,000 plus VAT or USD 120 to the organisers.
Contact the organisers: FoodWorld Media Ltd: Tel: +254 20 81 55 022; +254 725 34 39 32: Email: